I’ve found that this week, like the first few months of the pandemic, the reality of what we are living through keeps hitting me over and over again. It really feels like nothing will ever be the same again.

Human Bean’s #MadCovidDiaries, Week 22: August 17th 2020 to August 23rd 2020

This week we were invited along to the park with my daughter’s classmates-to-be. We decided this late in the summer that we may as well join in, since they will all be crammed in a classroom together next week either way. All the adults social distanced but the kids mixed fairly freely. It was outdoors and windy which I think did make it safer. 

My kids hadn’t been to a playground since March and they had a really good time. I still feel nervous about if it was the right choice though. However, I also feel a bit angry that I am agonising over doing hardly anything when everyone on my social media has just gone back to normal, it seems. 

I have to wave my daughter off to her first day at school next week in the middle of a pandemic. I am worried about the increased risk that comes with her attending school and my partner returning to work. It’s going to make the transition for all of us that much harder. 

In other news, I have been good at curbing my spending habits during lockdown – I’m historically an emotional shopper – but this last week I have really fallen off the wagon. I have splurged on craft stuff because when I get the chance to craft I really get into the zone and forget my worries. 

I’ve found that this week, like the first few months of the pandemic, the reality of what we are living through keeps hitting me over and over again. It really feels like nothing will ever be the same again. 

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. We ask that you seek our permission before you use any of our material – this includes researchers who want to harvest our data for analysis!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started